logo
Sign Up
.
Wednesday, 19 October 2016 15:12

Mining Safari in Artigas

Written by

One of the most innovative proposals that Artigas offers is the Mining Safari, a guided tour of the quarries located in the region El Catalan, where geodes of amethysts and agates of international interest for their size and intense purple are extracted. Tools, training and safety equipment are provided for visitors who wish to experience collecting their own semiprecious stones. Back in the city, tourists can visit several workshops where raw stones undergo industrial processes and/or are crafted for trade.
The safari is about 5 hours long and covers around 150 kilometers along National Road 30 and scenic byways along the fields where the mines are. The journey is appropriate for tourists to be surprised by the flora and fauna of the area, visit quaint general stores and enjoy typical products..
More info

 

Wednesday, 19 October 2016 13:34

Visit the heroic city of Paysandu

Written by

Between December 1864 and the first days of 1865, the city of Paysandu was besieged by General Venancio Flores, whose allies were Brazilian and Argentine soldiers and ships. The defense, organized by the Gral. Leandro Gomez, brought together about a thousand men, among whom there were several civilians and they precariously endured the bombing of the invading troops that had nearly 15,000 soldiers. This episode, not only gave the nickname of Heroic to the city of Paysandu, but it was also the preamble of one of the greatest tragedies of America: the Paraguayan War.
Camino de Leandro Gómez (The Way of Leandro Gomez) is an experiential proposal that takes visitors along emblematic sites and includes anecdotes and stories of this heroic feat.

Contact: Department of Tourism
Tel. (+598) 472 26220 Ext. 198
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Wednesday, 19 October 2016 13:24

Rediscovering Carmelo In 200 years

Written by

Carmelo, the only city founded by Jose Gervasio Artigas that is still standing, turned 200 years old this past February and remains fresh and renewed. Fall is an excellent time to rediscover it.
The city offers a wide range of hotels, including Hyatt's five-star facility which covers 300 hectares for enjoyment, featuring pools, restaurants, a golf course and a polo club, among other services.
Tourists also find other ideal sites for relaxation and the enjoyment of typical cuisine such as the Narbona Wine Lodge, the Campo Tinto Inn and the general store, Almacen de la Capilla.
Because of its proximity to Buenos Aires and its striking cultural and landscape qualities such as beautiful beaches on the Rio de la Plata, natural sailing conditions and relevant heritage values, the city of Carmelo has become a major tourist destination in the recent years.
One of the city's interesting aspects is its urban design. Carmelo is built on the two banks of a stream of water called Arroyo de las Vacas, and the only land connection between them is its emblematic Puente Giratorio (swing bridge), which is the most characteristic feature of the city. This is a great piece of engineering with over 100 years of history that allows the passage of large vessels by manual rotation. The bridge is the only human-powered swing bridge in all South America.
Another landmark of the city are the Jesuit ruins located on the Belen farm, known as the Calera de las Huerfanas; and the rural establishment of Narbona, the oldest building in Uruguay preserved in its original lines.
Next to the bridge, the city boasts the beautiful promenade Rambla de los Constitutyentes and the Carmelo Rowing Club, one of the most traditional institutions in this small city. From there, a singular tree-lined path leads to the yacht berth, and the quiet and cozy beach of Sere.

History

  • Carmelo: Founded by Jose Gervasio ArtigasAbrir o Cerrar

    Carmelo's history dates back to 1527, when Sebastian Cabotto at the mouth of Arroyo Las Vacas founded the first Hispanic fortification of the Rio de la Plata, called San Lazaro. Back in 1816, Gral. José Gervasio Artigas ordered the transfer of the village Pueblo las Viboras to Arroyo las Vacas, and this is why Carmelo is proud to have been founded by the national hero.
    There were several milestones in the city's process of creation, among which the main highlights were the arrival of the first settlers from Buenos Aires in 1708; the implementation of the British slave quarters in 1716; and the setting up of Estancia de Marques, around 1729, to supply goods to the city of Buenos Aires.

     

¡Not to miss!

Estancia Narbona (Narbona Wine Lodge).

This site founded in 1738 by Juan de Narbona has spacious and sumptuous rooms, a viewpoint and even a chapel where the Virgin of Candelaria stands.

Sports marina.

This is the second largest sports marina in the country for its mooring capacity, and the first in the Department of Colonia. The area is known for its several productive developments.

The swing bridge.

This unique engineering work crosses the stream of water Arroyo Las Vacas and it is the only human-powered swing bridge in South America.

Calera de las Huerfanas.

Founded by the Society of Jesus in 1741. The farm had a carpentry a loom room and a place for iron works. It was operational until 1767 when Jesuits were expelled and the farm passed into the hands of Juan de San Martin, father of the Argentine Liberator.

Tuesday, 18 October 2016 18:08

5 golden days in the North

Written by

Nature, gastronomy, gold and precious stones, this is the slogan of a new tourist proposal to enjoy the northern part of the country, visiting several towns like Valle del Lunarejo, Minas de Corrales, El Catalan and the cities of Rivera and Artigas.
The proposal is very diverse and depending on the visitor it can include ecotours in the protected area of Valle del Lunarejo, guided winery tours, exploring of the quarries of gold and precious stones, urban city tours and shopping, as well as a chance to taste the distinctive border cuisine.
One of the most innovative proposals is the Mining Safari, a guided tour of the quarries located in the region of El Catalan in Artigas, where geodes of amethysts and agates of international interest for their size and intense purple are extracted. Tools, training and safety equipment are provided for visitors who wish to experience collecting their own semiprecious stones. Back in the city, tourists can visit several workshops where raw stones undergo industrial processes and/or are crafted for trade.
The safari is about 5 hours long and covers around 150 kilometers along National Road 30 and scenic byways in the fields where the mines are. The journey is appropriate for tourists to be surprised by the flora and fauna of the area, visit quaint general stores and enjoy typical products.
Another must-do in the fall, are eco-tours in the Natural Park of Valle Lunarejo, a part of the National System of Protected Areas. The climb to Cerro Del Caudillo, the Paredones Circuit, or the Cueva del Indio trail are great alternatives to admire the diverse landscape of the area.

 

¡Not to miss!

Piedra Pintada (The Painted Rock).

It is a striking and unique sandstone rock in the region, 19 meters high, located 17 kilometers from the city of Artigas. Piedra Pintada is surrounded by native forests, ideal for a day outdoors. The area has a camping site, a swimming pool, barbecue facilities and a hostel.

Duty Free Shops.

The duty-free shops in the border area are a great commercial attraction for foreign visitors, where they can access high quality products at very reasonable prices.